On December 7, messaging giant WhatsApp announced a new privacy feature. You can now send a voice message that will disappear as soon as you hear it. How it works?
According to a note posted on its official blog, “When you want to read your credit card information to a friend or when you are planning a surprise, you can now also share confidential information through voice messages with greater peace of mind.”
To maintain consistency with the previously released one-time view of photos and videos, one-time view audio messages are clearly marked with a “one time” icon and can only be played once.
Security and privacy
As with all personal messages, WhatsApp says it “protects your voice messages with end-to-end encryption by default, and Single View is another example of our continued innovation in privacy.”
according to Information Introduced on December 7, “One-time audio messages will be rolled out worldwide in the coming days.”
Since 2021, the app has offered a single view of photos and videos in order to add an extra layer of privacy to users’ messages. To use the single view feature, make sure you download the latest version of WhatsApp available for your devices.
Single view of photos and videos on WhatsApp
Using this previously implemented functionality, the application ensures that:
- Media files will not be saved in the recipient’s Photos or Gallery section.
- Once you send a view-only photo or video, you won’t be able to view it again.
- You cannot forward, save, tag, or share photos or videos sent or received with single viewing enabled.
- You can’t tell if a recipient has opened a photo or video for viewing only once if they have read receipts enabled.
- If you don’t open the photo or video within 14 days of it being sent to you, the file will disappear from your chat.
Let us know if the new functionality comes out Voice messages are viewable only once maybe.
“Proud web fanatic. Subtly charming twitter geek. Reader. Internet trailblazer. Music buff.”